Yours truly will be writing the words for two hymns!

Today I sat down with one of the people responsible for the new Dutch Protestant hymn book. He had invited me to see if I would be interested and capable of writing the words for two new songs in this new songbook. Ofcourse I was very honoured and immediately willing to take on this task. Fortunately for me, he felt the same 😀

So now I am assigned to write an adaptation of saint Francis’ Canticle of the Creatures as well as a song about the seven works of mercy from the Bible. I’m so excited and proud! The book will be presented in May 2013 but in order to have the texts approved and put to music on time, I am required to present the first drafts in March next year. So I better start writing soon! Which I am eager to do anyway.

The book is intended for use in most Dutch and Belgian Protestant churches as well as in homes, so it has a very broad appeal. One of the novelties is the inclusion of songs which require other instruments than organ or piano, such as percussion instruments or guitar because these are popular in evangelical churches.

Another goal is to include material providing for a large variety of social gatherings, like a song to be sung in schools if a pupil has died. This social side is inspired by the Scottish hymn book tradition. I was also pleased to find out many English tunes will be included in the book.

It’s a real challenge to put my love of writing and church music together in order to contribute a small part to the living faith of my time, but I’m so grateful to be given this opportunity. I can’t wait to see what the result will be! 🙂

Leave a comment